Warning: May Contain Cave-Woman Nudity

While in New York City this week I decided to stop by the American Museum of Natural History. In the Anne and Bernard Spitzer Hall of Human Origins I encountered this disturbing installation showing a simpler time when we were vulture-fearing, antelope-guarding bipeds… like actors caught in the changing room on the set of Planet of the Apes.

but what interested me more than the dioramas were the interplays between visitors to the museum and the displays.

I felt like a little kid- seeing dinosaurs, meteorites, clothing and objects from faraway cultures… excited and intrigued.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Warning: May Contain Cave-Woman Nudity”

  1. Ben Kessler Says:

    Are you taking photographs in museums again? Just kidding, I did the same thing at the de Young in SF this past weekend and laughed about the blog conversation we had some time ago. The largest exhibition of Dale Chihuly’s works was on display and I nearly cried. To think that this guy conceptualizes these huge, complex, gravity bending glass sculptures on canvas and then oversees each and one of his artisan blowers as they carry out his vision is unbelievable. I think you’d really dig it. I think there’s a picture on my Facebook somewhere.

  2. Megan Says:

    Hey, I was browsing the web and ran across Joseph O. Holmes website and it was driving me crazy b/c I though I had seen his work before….turns out you did something similiar right here on your blog.

    Are you familiar with this series? http://portfolio.streetnine.com/amnh/

    How have things been? Hope all is well.

  3. RaiulBaztepo Says:

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  4. RICHIE7927 Says:

    HI MY NAME RICHIE PHILLIPS
    IM FROM WESTERVILLE OHIO
    STACEY IS RICHIES GIRLFRIEND
    THEY ON DATE
    TWO DAYS BYE?

Leave a Reply

