Ii

Your “Digital Shadow” – that is, all the digital information generated about the average person on a daily basis – now surpasses the amount of digital information individuals actively create themselves.

This, mildly frightening, information courtesy of a study by IDC

I decided to chase my own digital shadow…

justinsgooglesearch.jpg

Even more interesting than the web search was the image search, which- out of 98 images, yielded on one image of me and 7 images by me (none pictured below are of me or by me).

imagessearchjs.jpg

This means that only 8.16% of images about me on the internet actually have anything to do with me and that 91.84% of information others find about me, is not false, just falsely attached to me in some way.

On the internet we all become a sort of impersonator of self. What we are denied of, however, is any control, order, and very little influence over the character that is created. The strangest part of the whole thing is that, some day, a child or grandchild of mine will search my name: Justin Solitrin and instead of seeing information about me; will find information about justin solitrin– the digital shadow, doppelgänger. I am not sure that non-public figures have ever experienced such a loss of control over their personal-public identity as they are in the age of digital publication.

In some traditions, a doppelgänger seen by a person’s friends or relatives portends illness or danger, while seeing one’s own doppelgänger is an omen of death. I hope that my internet “double walker” is up to something interesting right now.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

