Foreign Correspondence #2: Aviv Rubinstien

As I walked around my house this morning, singing “You Are My Sunshine” to myself as I am one to do, I found myself running right into the second verse of “This Land is Your Land” only to discover that they are the same song.

Try this in your homes.

It got me thinking about songs that are other songs. Everyone knows at least a few: The alphabet song and “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star,” and The American National Anthem and The British “The Anacreontic Song.” I’m sure that was a bit of a culture shock for poor Justin the first time he went into a pub.

Nickelback plagiarized themselves recently writing the same song twice. Some astute Nickelback whistleblower discovered this and created the ultimate Nickelback song.

I’m sure there are thousands of others. There is a cash of songs from the 50s that all sound alike. Listen to anything not by Sinatra, Del Shannon or The Ronettes.

I’ve compiled an impartial list of songs that are actually just other songs, and I urge the millions of people that read this blog to contribute to the list.

Wilco: “Pot Kettle Black” / The Cure: “In-between Days”
Green Day: “Boulevard of Broken Dreams” / Oasis: “Wonderwall”
Soul Decision: “Faded” / Badly Drawn Boy: “Disillusion”
Ray Parker, Jr: “Ghostbusters” / Huey Lewis & The News: “I Want a New Drug”
Flaming Lips: “Fight Test” / Cat Stevens: “Father and Son”
Jet: “Are You Gonna Be My Girl?” / Iggy Pop: “Lust for Life”
Radiohead: “Just” / Love and Rockets: “No New Tale to Tell”
Oasis: “Part of the Queue” / Badly Drawn Boy: “Once Around the Block”
Suede: “Saturday Night” / Elton John: “Song for Guy”
Louis XIV: “A Letter to Dominique” / T-Rex: “Metal Guru”
Britney Spears: “Oops I Did It Again” / Barbara Streisand: “Woman in Love”
M C Hammer: “Can’t Touch This”/ Rick James: “Superfreak”
Vanilla Ice: “Ice, Ice Baby”/ Queen: “Under Pressure”
Vitamin C “Graduation” AND Spiritualized “Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space”/ Pachelbel: “Canon in D Major”

Now mash-ups don’t count, and neither do samples. So no Kanye West on this.

One thing, please keep your submission in the same format. Rip-Off Artist/Original Artist.

Foreign Correspondent
Aviv Rubinstien
Boston, MA USA

biglittlebeanz.jpg

Tags: , , ,

11 Responses to “Foreign Correspondence #2: Aviv Rubinstien”

  1. mom Says:

    Aviv,
    How long did it take you to think up that list???
    I think you may have gotten them all!!!
    I miss your face aviv
    come home to visit us soon………….please!!!!
    love momma

  2. Mr. larry Says:

    Aviv,

    You obviously have too much time on your hands. It is nice to see you pick up the slack while Justin is in Barcelona, hopefully not trying to think of songs to add to your list. I look forward to seeing you on your return, although I cannot offer brownies, I can offer you another chance to kick a small child in a stroller across Mcdonalds…again.

    Take care,

    Mr. larry

  3. Aviv Says:

    An addition

    Taking Back Sunday “Tell All Your Friends”/ Brand New “Jude Law and a Semester Abroad”

    Mr. Larry, I will kick any child, any time for you.

  4. LH Says:

    Television/Voidoids “Blank Generation” / Sex Pistols “Pretty Vacant”. blatant theft there.

  5. Janna Says:

    Marilyn Manson’s cover of “I Put a Spell on You”/Allman Brothers Band’s “Whipping Post”

  6. Cressa Says:

    Eurythmics’ “Sweet Dreams Are Made of These”/White Stripes’ “Seven Nation Army”

  7. aviv Says:

    this just in, after 10 months in silence, a new rip off!

    Miley Cyrus’s “See you Again” is a blatant rip off of Corey Hart’s “Sunglasses at Night.”

  8. eleanor Says:

    ted leo and the pharmacists “little dawn” rips off my morning jacket’s “one big holiday” by ONE year!

  9. Brendan Kelley Says:

    Red Hot Chili Peppers Dani California rips off Tom Petty’s Mary Jane’s Last Dance

  10. lisacavicchia Says:

    Nice list. Ice Ice Baby samples Under Pressure, so I don’t think it should count

Leave a Reply

