London Calling At The Top of The Dial

jnmp1.jpg

Nikki arrived on Sunday by way of Frankfurt. It was great to see a familiar face, and a cute one at that. I took the week off of work so that her and I could adventure and I could get my first real taste of London. Nikki brought the first taste of nice weather, and together we explored the city. London was the last leg of her European tour, via France, Germany, Belgium, and Luxembourg, Nikki extended her study trip so that we may have a handful of days together. She brought with her a smile and the comfort of home, 5711 kilometers. We took the week to see the Tate, the National Portrait Gallery, the River Thames- a romantic tour around the city. On Tuesday night, breaking from my improvised dining room bedroom, I booked a night at the Pavillion hotel for us. The hotel is a London hang out for celebrities and the stylish; a ripe location for fashion photographers such as Mario Testino. The hotel walls have been graced by such models as Sophie Anderton, Naomi Campbel, Bridget Hall, and actresses Kate Beckinsale & Helena Bonam Carter; and housed everyone from Leonardo DiCaprio, David Blaine, Craig David, Bryan Ferry, Jarvis Cocker, to Duran Duran, Daft Punk, and The Beach Boys.

bed.jpg

I made reservations for us in the Cosmic Girl room and I suppose I can now say that I have come closer than most to sleeping with Craig David.

While on the South Bank of the Thames River, the two of us (Nikki, not Craig David, and I) ran across some really excellent musicians. Busking between gigs, the two men played guitar and banjo. With heavy influence of the likes of Django Reinhardt, the men combined gypsy jazz with classic american blues. The two were from a band called The Jugglers. Worth checking out, and the £5 for their small press LP of a handful of their songs.

It was great to have the week off to indulge in art, food, music, and even a bit of romance. Exploring the city is a bit different in the company of a cute girl- I can’t say that I miss the solo expeditions into London proper, and I will have quite a time getting back into the swing of things at work.

Nikki turned the tables on me, as photographer became subject and she proved her skills behind the lens.

nikkijustinweb1.jpg

London calling at the top of the dial
After all this, won’t you give me a smile?
I never felt so much alike

Tags: , ,

One Response to “London Calling At The Top of The Dial”

  1. mom Says:

    wow!!
    what a cool hotel room!!

Leave a Reply

